Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

The Dreaded Graphics Chip Problem

Hi, John.

I was watching Louis Rossman, and he said the problem wasn’t the graphics chip.

He said it was a defective capacitor right NEXT to the Graphics chip.

He demonstrated how to replace the capacitor.

And he explained that since every attempt to “reball” the graphics chip inevitably heated up the capacitor, that’s why the computer would resume working for a while.

I was planning to get the heated tweezers and try this.

What do you think? Even if I get a 2016 model, that bad chip will still gnaw at me.

Comments

• Thanks for the post!

I'm by no means an expert at fixing GPU issues. I'm sure what Louis stated is true concerning whatever year board and GPU he was talking about, so I would believe him on that.

However, it all depends on the year and GPU. I know for a fact that the GPUs themselves do fail on certain years/models. So it all depends on the specific board/year/GPU, and it can't be generalized across all MacBooks.

If you have the specific board he was talking about, I'd say go for it.

Thanks,

John

• Louis Rossman's capacitor repairs were for the A1286 Models,(Late 2009-Mid 2011 macbook pro). I have 3 mid 2010 models, and I can confirm that replacing the capacitor does solve the gpu issues on that model. I'm using one of them to type this comment. Purchased it on ebay with the same gpu issue.