Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

Repairing Macs for Income

Hi John,

Thanks again for sending me the link to this forum.

I wanted to ask you some questions I had after watching the interview you did with Louis Rossmann. I thought it was a VERY interesting interview. I am not sure who is at fault when it comes to taking people doing great work like you off amazon. I have a sneaky suspicion that its apple. But Louis made a good point when he said that you may see a drop in sales, but if you have your own site with the right promotion you should be ok.

QUESTIONS:
~ TLDR - Id like to do it to myself and would love some pointers ~

1. Do you think that this is still a profitable business after amazon made their decision on refurbished apple products?

2. If I were to get started as a complete noob, where would you recommend someone go to get into something like this?
I am interested in getting into the repair game as well. I am sure that will get many "sighs" filled with contention. It has always interested me since I have a computer background and love working on them for fun already. I live a pretty simple life without much need for a lot of money and I think this might be a cool thing to do for some money on the side.

3. Would you consider this your main focus as a business?
I notice you do glitch art as well. I ask because I have a few passions that Id like to follow like music, art and podcasting. This is something I would love to do and do already for friends and family for no charge. I'm just not sure if it is "Do-able" for a source of income. I'm happy to keep doing it for free for those I know.

I am sure these questions are loaded ones. Any direction would be much appreciated!

Comments

• edited November 2018
    Hi Dorison! Thanks for the thoughtful post!