Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

Dead MacBook Pro 15"

I know I spilled water on it. It was off at the time, and I left it at home when I when on an out of state trip. When I got back and tried it, nothing. The power cord light didn't even light up. The genius bar said for $1400.00 they will repair it. Is there any way I can do this myself? I started building my own desktops back in the 90's, and have had this machine since new. I have lots of technical work experience, but don't want to make things worse. Its too expensive to just leave it dead. What kind of problems am i going to get into taking it apart to clean with a toothbrush, and alcohol? I was told that the I/O board was most likely the first thing to change.
Can you point me in the right direction for video repairs that should be useful, or tell me to scrap it?

Comments

• edited September 2018
    Don't scrap it!

First off, what laptop do you have? If you know the year that will help, or I can look it up by the serial. You can find the year by Googling "applecare serial number lookup" and plugging the serial into the Apple page.

Typically I would start by saying that the power button is connected to (or in some cases part of) the keyboard, and so if you fry the keyboard, you sever your means of powering on the computer at all, even though you might have a good board.