Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

Fix RAM slot on MBP 2009? ASAP!!

edited May 2012 in General
I am looking to get a cheap macbook pro- I am a student and could really use one (plus, I want one really bad anyways ;) )

This limits my budget a lot- to around $500 max. I am looking to get a 15" late 2008 MBP or above (post-unibody). I have been checking on ebay and found one with a screen backlight issue, but it looks like it is going to go over my price range

I kept on looking and found this model (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-MacBook-Pro-15-4-Laptop-MC118LL-A-June-2009-AS-IS-unibody-/251052454384?pt=Apple_Laptops&hash=item3a73e471f0#ht_500wt_1378)

It is listed as having a defective RAM slot (of course, I should be able to boot with one slot anyways)

I have access to a fine tip soldering iron and a heat gun- does anyone have experience taking this model apart and could tell me if this is possible? I really want the laptop and if that is an feasible fix I would greatly appreciate your help. It seems to me i just need to heat up the slots connector and let it reflow, or get a soldering iron in there and try by hand.

Comments

• edited May 2012